File: Nepal cricketer Aasif Sheikh
File: Nepal cricketer Aasif Sheikh

Kathmandu, January 27

Nepal’s Aasif Sheikh has won the ICC Spirit of Cricket Award 2022.

The global cricket governing body, International Cricket Council, announced the winner in a statement on Thursday.

Sheikh is the first Nepali player to win the award.

The ICC says the award recognises “his decision not to run out Andy McBrine after the Irish star tripped while attempting a run” during a match in February 2022.

Nepal and Ireland faced off in the sixth match of the Quadrangular series in Oman on February 14, 2022.

ICC defines the “spirit of cricket” in the statement, “Cricket is a game that owes much of its unique appeal to the fact that it should be played not only within its laws but also within the spirit of the game. Any action which is seen to abuse this spirit causes injury to the game itself.”

The post Aasif Sheikh of Nepal wins ICC Spirit of Cricket Award 2022 appeared first on OnlineKhabar English News.

By admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *